My mother is diabetic so as much as possible, we try to control her sugar intake and diet in general. New Year is the same date of my sister’s birthday so, of course, there’d be cake. And because we know that cakes bought in bakeshops would be very sweet, my mother won’t be able to eat it. That’s why I decided to make my sister’s cake for New Year’s eve.

UTENSILS
9×2 springform pan
kitchen beater (because I have no electric mixer)

INGREDIENTS

Crust:
2 137g packs of Oreo (if you want a thicker crust, double it)
9 tbsp liquefied unsalted butter

Cheesecake filling:
3 225g packs cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp lemon juice (optional for a tangy taste)
1 cup heavy/whipping cream, whipped

Ganache:
1/2 cup heavy/whipping cream
1 cup chocolate, unmelted
4 tbsp butter

Garnish:
melted white chocolate
crushed Oreo cookies (about 5 pcs)

PROCEDURE

Making the crust…
1. Separate the cookie from its cream. Set aside the cream for filling use.
2. Crush the cookies to the desired fineness. I crushed mine using a marble mortar & pestle until it can be sifted to a fine sifter. But I left some gradules for texture.
3. Mix the crushed cookies with the butter until it becomes damp and crumbly.
4. Assemble your springform pan.
Tip: Make its convex bottom your crust’s base so when it’s time to cut the cake, the concave rim won’t get in the way (see below):

16111246_120300001590714658_134080825_n.jpg
5. Press the crumbs to the pan as firmly as you can using your fingers. Spread evenly. Set aside.
Tip: I chilled the crust to set it while making the filling. During the cutting of cake, the crust tended to separate from the filling. I suggest you chill the crust and filling at the same time so they will somehow stick with each other and prevent separation upon cutting.

Making the filling…
6. Combine all the ingredients for the filling along with the cream from cookies. Mix until smooth.
Tip: Mine was not entirely smooth because I was not able to soften my cream cheese enough. So make sure you do to make your mixing easier especially if you do not have a mixer like I do.
7. Fill the top of the crust with the filling spreading it evenly. You may use spatula. In my case, I used a spoon’s back.
8. Chill the cake to set.
Tip: If you are in a hurry, you can put it in a freezer. In an hour or so, it should have set already.

Making the ganache…
9. In a saucepan, put all the ganache ingredients. Melt it on top of a boiling water.
Tip: Do not put it in direct heat to avoid burning the ganache.
10. Once ganache has been completely combined, set it aside to let it cool.

Assembly…
11. Once your cake has already set, bring it out of the fridge. Remove the rim and place the cake on a leverage not bigger than its diameter.
12. Ensure that your ganache had cooled off already. You will notice as well that its consistency had thickened, but it should not be so thick but should still be runny.
13. Pour the ganache on the cake spreading it evenly. Ensure that it will cover the cake’s edge as well.

Garnishing…
14. Once completely covered, put the melted white chocolate in a piping bag (a very small tip would do). Draw straight-one-way lines, at least 0.5-inch apart, on top of the cake. I had around 10 lines in my cake.
15. If you made vertical lines, run a toothpick horizontally on the cake’s top to have a similar design as the below:

Untitled.jpg
16. Carefully line the edge of the cake with crushed cookies.
17. Chill then cake then serve.

Here’s my first ever home-made Oreo Cheesecake. As you can see, the lines are kinda ugly. I should have ran the toothpick alternately so it will have the same pattern as the above.

15800427_1245108045538575_4144901858709245098_o.jpg

Check the other dishes I made for our New Year’s eve:

Murkon

Pizza Stuffed Chicken

