[DIY/Backpacking] Cavinti, Laguna

Before 2017 started, I promised myself to travel more and explore as many places as I can. Being broke after Christmas and New Year celebrations, I had to find a nearby travel so expenses would be less.

And then I found Cavinti, Laguna.

Laguna is accessible from GMA, Cavite (where I currently live) and quite near as well. I left as early as 8AM to start my journey.

HOW TO GET THERE:

  • Ride transportation going Sta. Cruz, Laguna – from South Station, Alabang there are vans going Sta. Cruz Laguna. Since January 2017, fare is P100. There are also buses, but I chose van instead. Travel time is around 2 hours.

Japanese Garden

  • My first stop was Japanese Garden. Tell the driver to drop you off anywhere in Sta. Cruz where you can ride jeep going to Sta. Cruz Market. Fare is P8.
  • At the market, look for the jeepney that will take you to Cavinti, Laguna. Fare is P22
  • Go and enjoy the scenery before alighting Japanese Garden.
  • At the entrance, there’s a P20 fee. After that, you can enjoy the five-hectare garden.

34022842745_e0b911b376_o

33637314770_df8df10cda_z

33893088371_21db55766c_z

33210506923_fd7efbea08_z

34022696385_470e034233_z

These were few of the things you’ll see upon entering the garden.

If you are a big fan of Japanese culture or anything related to Japan, don’t get your hopes up. The place is not really Japanese-ish. I think the only objects, which showed the Japanese-y of the place are on the pictures above. The rest of the place is just literally a big garden. But I must say, I did enjoy walking around the nature. It reminded me of my dear Alma Mater, UPLB.

33210319743_9ee0c257c6_z

33893175811_784f19f4cc_z.jpg

I didn’t stay long as there were not really much to see. So I headed to my next (and sadly last) destination… Bumbungan Eco-Park.

Bumbungan Eco-Park

They said that the falls in this eco-park is man-made, so I wanted to see for myself.

  • From Japanese Garden, ride jeepney going back to Sta. Cruz.
  • Alight Cavinti Junction then ride a tricycle going to Bumbungan Eco Park. I contracted the driver to take me to the park then to jeepney terminal, which will pass by any terminals going back to Alabang. We agreed to P100.

At the eco-park entrance, I was politely asked by the caretaker of my agenda, and I said I’ll just take quick pictures of the place, then he bid me off with a smile.

33893386881_9832111b2e_z

34023066605_c76dd0be27_z

33982274296_58b3d50e60_z

Don’t mind the labanderas and children swimming around. It’s perfectly legal to do that.

These are the fee system as of January 2017:

Environmental Protection Fee – Day: P10, Night: P20
Cottage – Day: P150, Night: P200
Life-vest rental – P10
Floater – P20

I was ready to pay the first fee, but it was waved (yay!) since I didn’t stay long. The caretaker even gave me a brochure about Cavinti Falls (aka Pagsanjan Falls), which I plan to visit some other time when I have more time.

Manong tricycle driver dropped me off to jeepney terminal, and off I went home.

I’d go back and sweep the rest of Cavinti’s spots, that’s for sure.

2 thoughts on “[DIY/Backpacking] Cavinti, Laguna”

  1. Hello!

    I’m thinking of visiting the Japanese garden and I was wondering if there are any flower patches or colorful trees in the area. Some of the trees look kinda similar to fire trees, so I was wondering if they ever sprout any flowers or if they stay like that all year round (the trees appear to be nude in the photos I’ve seen so far).

    Also, would you know of any other similar places near that area? I’ll be going there from another province, so I was hoping to make the most of the trip.

    Tips will be much appreciated.

    Thank you.

    Like

    1. Hi Rieyan! Sorry for the very late reply. To be honest, it was only full of trees around. If you are looking for a very instagrammble place, I really don’t recommend this place. Check out the other pictures I have taken; these are very similar with the ones I have already included in my blog.

      RecoveryArea_Cavinti_25

      Which province would you be coming from? But at the top of my head, I’d like to suggest that you visit UPLB (University of the Philippines Los Banos). It’s open to public, and there are lots to see inside the campus.

      Like

Leave a comment